top of page

Tantric Goddesses By Tashi

Updated: Aug 2, 2023

Tantric Goddesses by Tashi is an article explaining the 10 Hindu Tantric goddesses called the Mahavidyas. "Maha" means great, and "vidya" means knowledge or wisdom. Each Mahavidya represents a different aspect of the divine feminine, embodying both creative and destructive forces of the universe. They are often depicted as fierce and powerful goddesses, and they are worshipped for their transformative and spiritual qualities.

The Mahavidyas represent the divine feminine aspect of the universe, embodying various aspects of Shakti, the primordial cosmic energy and the dynamic force that drives creation, preservation, and destruction. Tantra recognizes the importance of both the masculine (Shiva) and feminine (Shakti) principles in the cosmos, and the Mahavidyas serve as powerful archetypal expressions of the goddess energy.

The Tantric Goddesses by Tashi is further explained here.. The Ten Mahavidyas:

  1. Kali: The most well-known and fierce of the Mahavidyas, Kali symbolizes time, destruction, and the dissolution of ego. She is often depicted with a black complexion, a garland of skulls, and a severed head in her hand.

  2. Tara: She represents the power of compassion and is seen as a guiding star or a savior. Tara is depicted with a blue complexion and is associated with protection and liberation from suffering.

  3. Tripura Sundari (also known as Lalita or Shodashi): The goddess of beauty and desire, Tripura Sundari is associated with love and bliss. She is depicted as a sixteen-year-old girl with a mesmerizing appearance.

  4. Bhuvaneshvari: As the goddess of the universe, Bhuvaneshvari embodies the cosmic aspect of creation and sustenance. She is often depicted seated on a lotus, representing her connection to the divine.

  5. Bhairavi: This fierce goddess represents the power of destruction and dissolution. She is associated with death, transformation, and the destruction of ignorance.

  6. Chinnamasta: Often depicted as a self-decapitated goddess holding her severed head and spurting blood, Chhinnamasta represents the aspect of self-sacrifice and the transcendence of the physical body.

  7. Dhumavati: The widow goddess symbolizes the aspects of loss, disappointment, and sorrow. She represents the void and the transformative power of letting go.

  8. Bagalamukhi: The goddess of speech and paralyzing force, Bagalamukhi is believed to subdue and control one's enemies and adversaries.

  9. Matangi: Associated with the power of domination, Matangi symbolizes independence, wisdom, and the pursuit of truth.

  10. Kamala: The goddess of wealth and abundance, Kamala represents prosperity and spiritual fulfillment.

Each Mahavidya has her own unique iconography, attributes, and associated mantras. Worshipping them is believed to lead to spiritual growth, self-awareness, and the attainment of various boons and blessings.

The Mahavidyas are also associated with the planets. Hindu Tantra is very connected to the astrology so studying Jyotish (Vedic Astrology) gives a huge understanding for a Tantric to understand deeper dimensions of how each of Tantric goddess operates by understanding the planet she rules.

  1. Kali - Saturn (Shani)

  2. Tara - Jupiter (Guru)

  3. Tripura Sundari - Mercury (Budha)

  4. Bhuvaneshvari - Moon (Chandra)

  5. Bhairavi - Lagna (Ascendent)

  6. Chinnamasta - Rahu (the North Node of the Moon)

  7. Dhumavati - Ketu (the South Node of the Moon)

  8. Bagalamukhi - Mars (Mangal)

  9. Matangi - Sun (Surya)

  10. Kamala - Venus (Shukra)

I hope you enjoyed my short and concise article about the Mahavidyas also known as the Tantric Goddesses.

The Tantric Goddesses- The Mahavidyas
The Tantric Goddesses- The Mahavidyas

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page